It’s a bingo…

September 12, 2009
The Basterds

The Basterds

I watched Inglorious Basterds this week and Christoph Waltz has to win the Oscar for Best Actor with his performance of Hans Landa. Smuggly evil yet eloquent, his portrayal of Tarantino’s Jew Hunting Standartenfuhrer is one of the best characters I have ever seen. His ability to speak English, French, German and even Italian fluently as one character is awe inspiring. To be able to act on top of that, well, just give him the Oscar, please.

During the film, I realised I possess a few Inglorious-esq pieces of attire. I am obsessed with the clothing from the World War period…I have no idea why. Anna B. Sheppard was the costume designer of the film and I have been besotted with her work without knowing it belonged to her.

She has worked on Schindler’s List, The Pianist, Hannibal Rising and my favourite, Band of Brothers. Spotify the soundtracks, even though they are emotional, they are truly amazing pieces of scoring. Michael Nyman and Michael Kamen- Geniuses.

Clothes on film is an interesting blog with an analysis regarding the costumes in Inglourious Basterds.

I am a Russian Solider

I am a Russian Solider

I looked like this during the snows of the past winter. My military boots are from French Connection and I was inspired to buy them because of the cute punk rock girl in Blink 182’s Always video. They are amazing and have zips down the side. My military coat is from Zara and my lovely Russian hat is from Oxfam, which cost £1.50. It is falling apart slightly, but that adds to the charm.

Granny Chic

Granny Chic

My vintage Ralph Lauren skirt is from Oxfam off Kings Road, my khaki green two-tone shirt is from St Christopher’s Hospice and my aviator leather jacket is from Zara. I love the shirt because it is over sized and puffs out a little. I am not a shoulder pad fan but the jacket achieves the same effect with the leather and metal popper detail.

I took the photos by the side of my house. I like the brick work as it suits the hard-wearing look and feel of the clothing. I am thinking that I need some military badges or something to embellish my coats with.

My inspiration spawned though my love from Band of Brothers.

Winters and Nixon

Damian Lewis and Ron Livingston as Major Winters and Captain Nixon

I cannot even begin to explain how awesome this mini series, so I won’t even bother trying.

I don’t agree with war in the slightest, however, I feel many people today have no idea what kind of hardships the elder generations have had to endure. Maybe if they did, there would be more respect in this country.

Inglourious Basterds photo from filmofilia.com, Band of Brothers Photo from wikipedia.org

Leave a comment